Outstanding students recognized at Honors and Awards Ceremony

The 2019 Honors and Awards ceremony

The St. Catherine University community gathered to celebrate student academic and leadership achievements recently, including inductees into the 26 active academic honor societies and the recipients of scholarships and departmental honors. The Honors and Awards ceremony also presented six All-University Student Leadership Awards that acknowledge leadership, outstanding loyalty and service, and contributions to the St. Kate’s mission.

“Today’s honorees join a long list of graduates who have distinguished themselves in their communities and the world,” said ReBecca Koenig Roloff ’76, President, St. Catherine University. “They are living examples of our mission in action.”

Michael J. Baynes Reflective Life Award Given to AnnaRose Williams

In its seventh year, the Michael J. Baynes Reflective Life Award recognizes a student in the Associate Degree program who, through leadership, service to peers and community, and adherence to high personal and academic standards, meets Michael’s daily challenge to himself and others to “Bring Good!”

Mary Alice Muellerleile Student Leadership Award Given to Rusty Rose-Dixon

Named in honor of the first director of continuing education, the Muellerleile Award is presented to a College for Adults student who has demonstrated outstanding leadership and service to her peers and to the University, and who has been an advocate of the strengths and development of women of all ages.

Thomas More Award Recipients

The Thomas More Award is presented to students who have demonstrated outstanding loyalty and service, as well as integrity and campus spirit. These students may have made a major contribution to a particular organization, department, program or issue, or may have consistently contributed to a broad range of activities.

This year’s Thomas More award recipients are Zaynab Abdi, Fatumastar Adan, Maren Adler, Elizabeth Allen, Kapono Asuncion, Rita Kristine Bernardo, Mira Bronstein, Emily Carman, Kyra Christopherson, Andrea Duarte-Alonso, Ladan Hadafow, Elizabeth Kula, Briana Middleton, Ruth Rike, Katelyn Rising, Ariana Schneiderhan, Anna Schrupp, and Peace Sinyigaya.

Dean of Students Award

The Dean of Students Award recognizes a senior who has made an outstanding contribution to the University’s mission throughout her years at St. Catherine University. The Dean of Students Award was presented to Baomi Phung for profoundly impacting the University and her constituents in so many ways, and her amazing on-campus leadership. 

Helen B. Lemmer Award in Honor of Mother Antonia McHugh

This award was established by the St. Kate’s chapter of the Association of University Professors and first presented in 1973, the centennial year of Mother Antonia’s birth. It is endowed by the family and friends of Helen B. Lemmer to recognize a student who intends to pursue a career on college or university teaching, and exemplifies the ideas of St. Kate’s first president.

This year’s award was presented to Maakwe Cumanzala, a mathematics and economics major. Cumanzala is driven to use her education to make the world better and fairer, particularly for women and girls in Zimbabwe. This past fall Maakwe demonstrated her academic excellence, leadership and dedication as a Rhodes Scholarship finalist.

Mary E. McCahill Award

Long recognized as the University’s most prestigious award, the Mary E. McCahill Award is presented to a senior who has consistently demonstrated outstanding leadership, academic excellence, loyalty and service to the University throughout her years here. This year’s award was presented to Maakwe Cumanzala.

During her time at St. Kate’s, Cumanzala has demonstrated her strong leadership and academic skills through numerous roles including as a research collaborator in the Summer Scholars Program, a research assistant in the Economics Department, a Mathematics and Economics Tutor, and a Teaching Assistant in Computer Science and Economics. She has also served as a Transfer Orientation Coordinator and Orientation Leader, SCISO President, Co-President of the Economics Club and MIPS Peer Mentor.

Cumanzala has served in the Student Senate for four years, as a First Year Representative, then Academic Affairs Chair, as the Senate Official, and this year as the Senate President.

“Student success is how we measure our success,” said Roloff. “Today’s honors and awards are one measure among many that our work has achieved its goals, and we joyfully acknowledge and revel in their achievements.”