2022–23 All-University Honors and Awards celebrate exceptional students

On May 2, the St. Catherine University community gathered to celebrate student academic and leadership achievements, including inductees into the 33+ active academic honor societies and the recipients of scholarships and departmental honors. The Honors and Awards ceremony also presented six All-University Student Leadership Awards that acknowledge leadership, outstanding loyalty and service, and contributions to the St. Kate’s mission.

"Today’s honorees join a long list of graduates who have distinguished themselves in their communities and the world. The world has never needed them — their intelligence and confidence, and their leadership and influence — more than it does right now," said President ReBecca Koenig Roloff ’76. "That is why today, we celebrate the many ways our students have engaged in their St. Kate’s education, the leadership skills they have honed and applied, and the knowledge they have gained to make our world a better place."

The 2023 All-University Honors and Awards ceremony

Michael J. Baynes Reflective Life Award

Presented to: Ron Tobin

Established by the family and friends of Michael J. Baynes, associate director of student life on the Minneapolis campus from 1998 until his tragic death in 2012, this award recognizes a student in the Associate Degree program who, through leadership, service to peers and community, and adherence to high personal and academic standards, meets Michael’s daily challenge to himself and others to “Bring Good!”


Mary Alice Muellerleile Student Leadership Award

Presented to: Ellie Carter

Named in honor of the first director of continuing education, the Muellerleile Award is presented to a College for Adults student who has demonstrated outstanding leadership and service to their peers and to the University, and who has been an advocate of the strengths and development of women of all ages.


Thomas More Award Recipients

This award is presented to students in any program or class who have demonstrated outstanding loyalty and service to the University, integrity, and have promoted campus community spirit. These students may have made a major contribution to a particular organization, department, program or issue or may have consistently contributed to a broad range of activities.

Presented to: Leena Abdulla, Kaitlyn Blair, Celina Blanco-Ramirez, Olivia Braaten, Victoria Delgado-Palma, Karri Drain, Emily Ernst, Andrew Frederick, Melody Her, Nati Herrera, Alejandra Kelly, Ava LaPlante, Anna Belle Lee, Aubrey Lemon, Kate Nordstrom, Mara Norris, Tomi Ola, Hailey Sexton, Daniel Sustacek, Julia Walquist, Pa Ia Xiong, and Malodi Yangwaue.


Dean of Students Award

Presented to: KaZong Vue

This award recognizes a senior who has made an outstanding contribution toward the accomplishment of the University’s mission throughout their years at St. Catherine University.


Helen B. Lemmer Award in Honor of Mother Antonia McHugh

Presented to: Ava LaPlante

This award was established by the St. Kate’s chapter of the Association of University Professors and first presented in 1973, the centennial year of Mother Antonia’s birth. It is endowed by the family and friends of Helen B. Lemmer to recognize a student who intends to pursue a career in college or university teaching and exemplifies the ideals of St. Kate’s first president.


Mary E. McCahill Memorial Award

Presented to: Isela Cereso Mendiola

It is the University’s highest award, presented to a senior who has consistently demonstrated outstanding leadership, academic excellence, loyalty and service to the University throughout their years at St. Catherine.

During her time at St. Kate's, Cereso Mendiola has been a model of leadership and excellence, leading many student groups on campus. She has consistently engaged in opportunities to practice her leadership skills, build her confidence, and collaborate with people of marginalized communities. She has a particular passion for supporting first generation and BIPOC students and has demonstrated the ability to marry her personal experience with her emerging professional identity.



Photos by Rebecca Zenefski Slater ’10.