Four honored with Denny Prize

2018 Denny Prize winners

The winners of the annual Denny Prize for Distinction in Writing, which highlights the best in creative and non-fiction writing from St. Catherine University faculty and staff, were recognized during a reception earlier this week.

Pamela Fletcher and Elaine James were selected from a pool of 16 entries as the 2018 Denny Prize recipients. The prize was established by the Denny family to honor Eleanor McCahill ‘26. An English major who credited her professors with her love of books and writing, she passed along those passions to her children and grandchildren.

Fletcher received the honor in the creative writing category for her work, “Poems from Love & Other Highways, 2018.” A professor in the English Department, she has taught at St. Kate’s for 12 years and also serves as director of the Writing Intensive Program.

James, this year’s recipient for non-fiction, won for “Naming the Fish.” An assistant professor of theology, she came to St. Kate’s in 2013.

Honorable mentions were also awarded to Kate Glassman for her creative work, “Instinct” and Nancy Heitzeg for her non-fiction work, “#BlackLivesMatter: Resisting State Violence in a New Era of ‘Law and Order.’”