Andrea Duarte awarded Prestigious Truman Scholarship

Andrea Duarte and President Roloff

President Roloff (right) announces that Andrea Duarte '19 (left) has won the Truman Scholarship.

Andrea Duarte, a junior at St. Catherine University, was selected this week as a 2018 Truman Scholar.

The Truman Scholarship is a national scholarship which awards $30,000 to students who show exceptional leadership skills and plan to pursue a career in public service. Duarte is studying Political Science and aspires to undertake a master’s degree in public policy and a juris doctor degree at the University of Minnesota law school and Humphrey School of Public Affairs. She aims to dedicate her career to public service and to advocate for immigrant and women’s rights.

“We are all incredibly proud of Andrea and are thrilled with the news of her selection,” said President Becky Roloff. “This is a momentous accomplishment for her, and I know this is just the first of many great achievements she will have. She is an excellent example of the smart and talented women leaders present at St. Kate’s.”

Duarte was informed of her award by President Roloff and Lynda Szymanski, interim dean of the School of Arts, Humanities and Sciences, and one of Duarte’s coaches throughout the application process, when they surprised her earlier this week during one of her classes.

“This is more than a scholarship to me,” said Duarte. “It is a recognition of my accomplishments as a student, leader and community member.”

The Harry S. Truman Scholarship Foundation was created by Congress in 1975 to be the nation’s living memorial to President Harry S. Truman. The Foundation has a mission to select and support the next generation of public service leaders.

The Truman award has become one of the most prestigious national scholarships in the United States. Annually, candidates for the Truman Scholarship go through a rigorous, multi-stage selection process. This year, the Truman Foundation reviewed more than 750 applications from over 300 institutions. The 194 finalists for the award were interviewed in March and early April at one of sixteen regional selection panels. From these finalists, 59 new Truman Scholars were selected for 2018.