Faculty and staff honored at annual award ceremony

Retiring faculty members were conferred with faculty emeriti status in 2018: Indrani Maitra, Marsha Holey, Jill Jepson, Patricia Olson, and Geri Chavis.

Retiring faculty members were conferred with faculty emeriti status: Indrani Maitra (left, with SVP Pat Pratt-Cook), Marsha Holey (center, top), Jill Jepson (center, bottom, with Pat Pratt-Cook), Patricia Olson (right, top, with Pat Pratt-Cook), and Geri Chavis (right bottom).


On Friday, May 11, St. Catherine University faculty and staff were honored during the annual spring awards ceremony. University employees gathered in Our Lady of Victory Chapel to recognize faculty emeriti, years of service awards, milestone recognition awards and special faculty and staff awards.

Seven retiring faculty members were granted continued recognition to distinguished faculty members as they retire from teaching. Known as emerita or emeritus status, the designation provides a means for the retired professor to maintain a formal connection with St. Catherine University. Recognized with emerita/emeritus status were: Geri Chavis, professor of English, Suzanne Clarke, associate professor of nursing, Marsha Holey, associate professor of health information and coding, Jill Jepson, professor of English, Indrani Maitra, professor of liberal arts and sciences, Patricia Olson, professor of art and art history, and Garry Pech, professor of philosophy.

“Years of Service” Awards in recognition of those members of the campus community who have served the University anywhere from 5 to 20 years — at five-year intervals.

Faculty and staff who achieved milestone years of service, 25 or more years at five-year intervals, were also recognized. There were 12 employees recognized for 25 years of service, one staff member who reached the 30-year milestone, two individuals who have dedicated 35 years to St. Kate's, and one staff member who was recognized for 40 years of service to the University.

Staff of the Year Awards honor staff members who have been nominated by their colleagues for their exceptional work and outstanding contributions to the University. There are two categories for the staff awards: service and support, and administrative.

Nominated for the service and support category were Michael Baxter, Kathleen Harris, Sheila Jackson, Valerie Krech, Darwin Lindbloom, Mary Newman, Anh-Hoa Nguyen, Janine Schug, and Lindsay Sporer. Ahn-Hoa Nguyen, program coordinator for the humanities, was selected by the committee as the winner.

Administrative Staff Award nominees were Sara Berhow, Alvina Brueggemann, Aimee Brunn, Elizabeth Dunens, Victor Juran, Cyndy Krey, Diana McGrath, Thelma Obah, Jonathan Okstad, Ann Reilly, Rachel Thoson and Laura Zirngible. There were two winners selected from this category, Sara Berhow, senior communications specialist and Alvina Brueggemann, WHIR Center coordinator.

2018 Faculty Teaching and Advising Awards honor the highest quality of teaching, dedication to effective mentoring and academic advising. The winners are selected from an impressive faculty that exemplifies the highest echelon of academic excellence and student focus. Members of the St. Kate's community nominate faculty members for this award each year and celebrate colleagues who maintain high academic standards, go above and beyond in their teaching, and provide quality mentoring and advising. Nominees for this award were Julie Bass, Laurel Bidwell, Susan Bosher, Becky Busanich, Vicki Eggum, Mary Henderson, Megan Kalina, Andrea Kalis, Catherine (Kate) Kelly, Carolyn Krafft, Meghan Mason, Leso Munala, Lana Prokop, Sarah Rand, Vincent Skemp, Amy Stading, Anne Williams-Wengard and James Wollack. There were two winners selected: Lana Prokop, an adjunct professor in the Exercise and Sports Science department, and Megan Kalina, a professor in the Business Administration department.