Endowed Mission Chairs

Bringing the University's mission to life.

  • mission

    Endowed Chairs

    St. Catherine University’s unique approach to mission is faculty-driven, collaborative, and integrative. The three components of the St. Catherine mission — Catholic, Women, and Liberal Arts — spring from St. Catherine’s founders, the Sisters of St. Joseph of Carondelet. In 1905, their vision was an institution that educated women to “do all of which woman is capable and which will most benefit the dear neighbor.”

    This vision continues to evolve as St. Catherine prepares a new generation of women to take their place as leaders in a world that needs them. Three endowed chairs have been established to ensure that mission permeates the University's curricular and co-curricular offerings.

  • Catholic

    Endowed Chair in Catholic identity

    Kate Barrett, OTD, Associate Professor of Occupational Therapy, serves as the Archbishop Harry Flynn Endowed Chair in Catholic identity and Director of the Myser Initiative.

    Barrett is excited to work with faculty and staff to integrate Catholic Social Teaching and the charism of the Sisters of St. Joseph of Carondolet into their daily work at St. Catherine University. As an occupational therapist, she is passionate about working toward just systems in which all people can participate in their communities in meaningful ways regardless of ability, race, gender or status.

  • women

    Endowed Chair in Women's Education

    Dr. Hui Wilcox, Associate Professor of Sociology, serves as the Sisters of St. Joseph of Carondelet Endowed Chair in Women's Education.

    Hui brings many talents and gifts to this position. She has taught The Reflective Woman; is an active member of the core Women's Studies faculty; and is engaged in scholarship that is deeply intersectional, at the nexus of critical theory, critical studies, and feminism.

  • liberal arts

    Endowed Chair in the Liberal Arts

    Amy K. Hamlin, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Art History, serves as the Alberta Huber, CSJ Endowed Chair in the Liberal Arts and Director of the Evaleen Neufeld Initiative in the Liberal Arts.

    Hamlin is dedicated to cultivating — in the spirit of collaboration and intellectual curiosity — the abiding commitment to the liberal arts at St. Catherine. As a scholar and an educator trained in the liberal arts, she will work with faculty and staff from across the University to fortify existing partnerships between the liberal arts and professional programs and to create new alliances that respond to the needs of our time.

  • leadership donors

    Supporting the Endowed Chairs & Program Funds

    Each position is funded by an endowment that supports programming. The endowed chairs are collaborating to initiate, plan, and coordinate faculty and staff development opportunities.

    We are grateful to the following benefactors who made gifts of $25,000 or more for the endowed mission chairs and program funds:

Anonymous (6)
Nancy JP Anderson '01
Sandra Kamman Butler '56, MLS '57 and Peter M. Butler
Colleen Curran '75
Charles M. Denny, Jr. and Carol Easley Denny †
Gloria DeVore '64
Janet M. Dolan '71 and William G. Moore
Frances Culligan Galvin '54 and Michael J. Galvin, Jr.
Patricia Simms Gries '69, MAT '89 and John R. Gries
Corrine H. McCarthy '51
Andrea Schweizer McGough '54 † and Lawrence J. McGough

Susan Schmid Morrison '60 and John M. Morrison
Patricia O'Connor Myser '56 and John T. Myser †
Evaleen Everson Neufeld '46 † and Joseph A. Neufeld †
Margaret R. Otte '81
Thomas J. Pacholl
Lois Gross Rogers '63 and John E. Rogers
Ann Ryan '75 and Patrick Ryan
Sisters of St. Joseph of Carondelet, St. Paul Province
Marcella Flaten Wartman '49 and Thomas G. Wartman †

† indicates deceased as of September 15, 2016.