Hall of Fame inductees

From Left: Eric Stacey, athletic director and assistant tennis coach; Kim Hayes Jones SP'03; Jenna Martin Tanner SP'06; Madge Makowske, associate athletic director and head softball coach; Anne Sikorra Holdener SP'03; and Rita Pomry SP'05.

Wildcat Winners

Four star athletes enter Hall of Fame.

This fall, four remarkable alumnae athletes were inducted into St. Catherine University's Athletics Hall of Fame.

Kim Hayes Jones SP'03, the all-time leader in career points and assists for Wildcats hockey, was captain three seasons and twice picked for the Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (MIAC) All-Conference team.

Rita Pomroy SP'05, now an assistant softball coach at St. Kate's, was ranked 14th in the National Collegiate Athletic Association and currently holds four career records for the Wildcats. She was a three-time captain and three-time MIAC All-Conference player and part of the 2005 Wildcats team that made program history with the first 20-win season.

Anne Sikorra Holdener SP'03 is one of the University's most-decorated track-and-field athletes, with eight school records and 22 "Top 6" finishes in the MIAC Indoor and Outdoor Track and Field Championships. Holdener was also a MIAC champion twice, in the heptathlon and pentathlon.

In her first year at St. Kate's, Jenna Martin Tanner SP'06 led the Wildcats basketball team to a 14–11 record, was named St. Kate's Rookie of the Year and earned a coveted spot on the All-MIAC First-Year Team. She was a team captain and is the Wildcats fourth-leading basketball scorer of all time.

Joan Kelly

Award of Merit

Professor of Occupational Therapy Kathleen Matuska, chair of the Occupational Science and Occupational Therapy Department, was awarded the 2012 Bonnie Jean Kelly and Joan Kelly Faculty Excellence Award, the highest faculty honor at St. Catherine University. Senior Vice President Colleen Hegranes made the presentation at the University's opening celebration for students, faculty and staff members on September 5.

Presented annually since 2006, the distinguished award carries a $10,000 cash prize and recognizes accomplishments in teaching, scholarship and other achievements in the honoree's field. The award, endowed by Joan Kelly SP'46, is named in honor of Kelly's late sister, Bonnie Jean Kelly, who attended St. Kate's briefly before her death. This is the seventh year the award has been presented.