Family, Consumer and Nutritional Sciences (FCSN) Vision and Mission

Vision - To be an innovative department renowned for rigorous, diverse programs of study steeped in the Catholic liberal arts tradition and distinguished by exemplary graduates responsibly engaged in the world.

Mission - Founded first on Catholic liberal arts tradition and offering rigorous programs of study, the Family, Consumer and Nutritional Sciences (FCNS) department educates women to be professional, ethical leaders. Grounded in science, the students become content experts with an innovative mindset and professional voice. The curriculum empowers students to understand and reflect upon the multi-faceted issues facing individuals and families today, challenging graduates to advocate for the dear neighbor without distinction in a socially responsible manner. Strong inter-professional and community collaborations prepare women for transformational leadership, life-long learning and a commitment to sustainability in the global context.

HomeDieteticsFaculty/Staff

Nutrition and Exercise Science
Faculty/Staff

Our faculty members are experienced professionals who enjoy challenging and mentoring students. They bring a variety of research interests to their teaching — call or email them to learn more.

Name Phone E-mail
All phone numbers begin with (651) 690- unless noted.
Mark Blegen
Department Chair
Co-Director of the WHIR Center
Associate Professor
6425 mblegen@stkate.edu
David Luedtke
Director of Women's Fitness and Wellness
Field Work Supervisor
Associate Professor
6995 dlluedtke@stkate.edu
Debra Barone Sheats
Director of the Dietetics Program
Assistant Professor
6671 dbsheats@stkate.edu
Mary Galvin
Administrative Assistant
8789 mdgalvin@stkate.edu
Teri Burgess-Champoux
Assistant Professor
8750 tlburgesschampoux@stkate.edu
Joshua Guggenheimer
Assistant Professor
8158 jdguggenheimer@stkate.edu
Jacquelyn Nyenhuis
Assistant Professor
6091 jrnyenhuis@stkate.edu
Allys Swanson
Associate Professor
6710 amswanson@stkate.edu
Julie Miller Jones
Professor Emerita
8789 jmjones@stkate.edu
Patricia Ode
Professor Emerita
8789 pjode@stkate.edu